Posted by: mytriptohaiti | September 20, 2011

Seeing again, for the first time

My mile-and-a-half walk home from work tonight was like most others. Through downtown, buildings looking over me, and me, back up at them. I look up when I walk. And I see something new nearly every evening, even along the same route.

Crossing paths with businessmen, women in running shoes, children wearing school uniforms, and a few folks without a home.

Tonight’s sky, a deep royal blue, which faded into black once past the lighted walkway of a yellow bridge, called with open air, quiet luxury. My eyes glued upward I didn’t notice the first call from the girl walking toward me, ‘Excuse me, miss. Excuse me, miss. Do you have any change?’ I rarely carry money. ‘I have half a sandwich if you’re hungry.’ Before I finish the statement, she reaches her hand out for the bag and thanks me several times.

We tell children that one person can make a difference. In that moment, I hope I made a difference in the life of this one person.

Having no real idea of what I may encounter upon arrival in Haiti tomorrow, my goal is to try to make a difference in the life of just one person. I think most efforts, international or otherwise, think big, large-scale, helping everyone. Admirable as that may be, sometimes, it’s just not possible, at least, not possible immediately, in that moment. I know it is possible though – but it starts with one. And I’ll hold my index finger when I deplane and hope that I am one, in that moment.

And just as I finish this post, into my inbox comes my daily affirmation for tomorrow:

Full Meaning Known

Wednesday September 21, 2011  

Nothing can be understood while it is being made. Only after it is completed can its full meaning be known.

Responses

  1. You will not help everyone. You will not help one person. You will touch the lives of many people; I know it.

    Be safe, be well—your love of humanity will be apparent to anyone who meets you.

  2. Gosh, how proud of you I am, my friend. Keep safe, do ‘good’, and learn much. Then bring it all back home to us. Will keep watching for your posts. (((hugs))) and prayers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

