Posted by: mytriptohaiti | September 23, 2011

Welcome to Haiti

Day 1

09/21/11 5:00pm

Per email instruction from Jamie a few days before my flight to Haiti, I would find my driver upon exiting the airport. After three planes and an eleven hour day of travel, I did not find my driver. I also discovered I do not speak or understand French. Or Creole.

Rather, I found Ali and Jamie waiting for me at the end of the covered pedestrian walkway. “The airport is the most chaotic part,” Jamie assured me, and I was thankful for that. Cedric drove the three of us through downtown Port-au-Prince while acting as tour guide. My flipcam filmed the entire hour-and-a-half ride home. Up and around steep, winding roads with sidewalks completely covered with artisan and market stands, I watched wide-eyed as other cars, motorbikes, animals, and pedestrians vied for the same public space – a sometimes rubble road with potholes that would easily give Pittsburgh the award for Most Drivable City in America.

Brilliant colors coat this country and its people. Smiles and handshakes are all around. And while there is need, and rebuilding from an earthquake a year-and-a-half ago is still underway, there is much kindness and there is no doubt, beauty is around every corner.

 

 

Responses

  1. Great photos and blog! Thanks for sharing!

    A good friend of mine Vladimir is from Haiti and he gave a group of my kids a quick lesson once in Creole. Here’s some general phrases in his lesson:
    Hi! My name is… H! Nomre se…
    How are you doing? Keyjea uh uh?
    I’m doing great! Muy bien! Com ci com sa!
    What time is it? Oue l’huere le ah?
    You know what time it is! Oh conne’ que l’heure le yah!
    Oh really? Ohh ce vrai?
    Are you for real? Est que uh fait’ munte’?
    Yes, thank you. Oui, merci.


Leave a Reply

Categories

